The Secret of Life of Walter Mitty

Standard

This movie got me. If I was a movie, The Secret Life of Walter Mitty would be my hero.

Visually it was amazing. Over-saturated colours, portrait-style shots and breath-taking locations. Not only does Ben Stiller deliver one of his finest performances, but he looks really good doing so. (Don’t believe me? Watch it and see).

It’s funny, has a memorable soundtrack, gave me actual goosebumps and made me happy-cry.

But for me, when it comes to movies it will always come down to the storyline. Even the character is secondary to the plot. The Secret Life of Walter Mitty tells a brilliant story. It’s based on a book by James Thurber and directed by Stiller himself.

It’s a book I’d love to get my hands on. Once the book embargo of 2013 has been lifted (a sanction placed on me by my husband because I buy more books than I have time to read), I am definitely going to make time to explore this short story.

I have been remarkably inspired since the start of 2014. This movie was a metaphorical pat on the head.

A must-watch.

a poster reminding me of one of my favourite scenes

one of my favourite scenes

Leave a comment